Category: February 12, 2019

Government of Pakistan through Higher Education Commission (HEC) has established National Center for Cyber Security (NCCS) along with associated Labs. The aim of research center & labs is to become the leading hub of innovation and scientific research, to develop tools and technology to protect Pakistan’s cyber space and knowledge transfer to local economy and training.

The National Center housed in Air University Islamabad will comprise of Labs including Bahria University Islamabad, Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS), National University of Science & Technology (NUST), Information Technology University (ITU) Lahore, NED University Karachi, Pakistan Institute of Engineering & Applied Sciences (PIEAS), University of Peshawar, University of Engineering & Technology Peshawar, University of Technology Nowshera, University of Engineering & Technology Lahore, and University of Engineering & Technology Taxila.

Bahria University has been awarded the grant for Cyber Reconnaissance and Security (CRC) Lab in a special ceremony held on 14th May, 2018 at Air University, Islamabad.  Funding for CRC Lab is 100.8 Million provided by HEC. Cyber Reconnaissance and Security (CRC) Lab will work under the NCCS. The objective of establishing CRC lab in Bahria University is to address the vibrant National security needs and enhancing skill base to keep abreast with changing cyber security threats. In this context, the CRC Lab shall be developing an Indigenous Intrusion Detection System that shall be capable of detecting both internal and external attacks over the network. Commercial/ Open source IDS cannot be trusted to protect Critical Information Infrastructure.  Indigenous IDS will serve as main line of defense to identify threats/ attacks on National Information Infrastructure.

Principle Investigator of the project is Prof. Dr. M. Najam-ul-Islam (Dean Engineering Sciences – BU). The Co-PIs are Dr. Atif Raza Jafri (HoD EE, BUIC), Dr. Faisal Bashir (HoD CS, BUIC), and Dr. Kashif Naseer & Dr. Nazir Malik (Faculty members of CS Deptt, BUIC).